1000s of ER nurses are renewing their ACLS and CTAS courses this year – is it time for your own renewal?


Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS) Course 

The ACLS course builds upon basic life support skills and to promote high-quality CPR practices.  The course takes approximately 12.5 hours to complete, and needs to be renewed every two years.

Recommended for: healthcare professionals who work directly with patients who may experience cardiopulmonary arrest or other cardiovascular emergencies.

The Heart & Stroke Foundation’s ACLS Course Description

Scientific evidence has pointed the way toward better content, while educational research has led to improved design of the Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS) Provider Course. Both the design and the content of the Heart and Stroke Foundation ACLS Provider Course are evidence based.

The ACLS Provider Course emphasizes 3 major concepts:

  •  The crucial importance of high-quality cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) to patient survival
  •  The integration of effective basic life support (BLS) with ACLS interventions
  •  The importance of effective team interaction and communication during resuscitation

The course is designed to give students the opportunity to practice and demonstrate proficiency in the following skills used in resuscitation:

  •  Systematic approach
  •  High-quality BLS
  •  Airway management
  •  Rhythm recognition
  •  Defibrillation
  •  Intravenous (IV)/intraosseous (IO) access (information only)
  •  Use of medications
  •  Cardioversion
  •  Transcutaneous pacing
  •  Team dynamics

Students will practice the application of these and other skills in simulated cases and will practice both Team Leader and team member roles.

Find out how you can get/renew your certification through the Heart & Stroke Foundation.



Canadian Triage and Acuity Scale (CTAS)

The CTAS is a tool that enables healthcare professionals to correctly triage patients and prioritize their care requirements, streamlining the patient care process and workload within an emergency department.

Recommended for: healthcare professionals working within an emergency department.

The CTAS helps Emergency Departments (ED) to:

  • Prioritize patient care requirements
  • Examine patient care processes, workload, and resource requirements relative to case mix and community needs

The CTAS allows ED nurses and physicians to:

  • Triage patients according the type and severity of their presenting signs and symptoms
  • Ensure that the sickest patients are seen first when ED capacity has been exceeded due to visit rates or reduced access to other services
  • Ensure that a patient’s need for care is reassessed while in the ED

The CTAS allows ED managers to:

  • Measure the case mix (volume and acuity) of patients who visit the ED
  • Determine whether the ED has an operational plan and the resources to meet patient needs
  • Assess the ED’s role within the hospital and health care region

Find a CTAS Course Provider near you.

For more information on temporary ER nursing jobs or travel nursing positions, contact us today.